Is There a Cat in That Box?

Today’s book is a wonderful early reader that wants to know “Is there a cat in that box?”  This book is all about how far your imagination can take you and with a perfect twist in the end, readers will not be disappointed!

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that you don’t miss a single story that will have you questioning your own creative thinking.

Title: What Is Inside This Box? A Monkey and Cake Bookis there a cat in that box monkey and cake book

Author: Drew Daywalt

Target: Kindergarten-Grade 2

Series: Yes

What this book is about:

Cake comes upon Monkey as he is in possession of a big box.  When Cake asks Monkey about the content of the box, Monkey assures Cake that a kitty cat is in the box, but only when the box is closed.  When the box is opened there is no cat inside.  This concept does not fly with Cake until Monkey assures him that he can think about anything being inside the box when it is closed.  A bit of a disagreement ensues when Cake decides a dinosaur is inside the box, but Monkey is still convinced it is still a cat.  However, they remain friends and go off to get some pie, and when they leave, the fun begins.

Why I love this book:

  • I appreciate when early readers are funny with a clever story arch, which is hard to do with simple words and only a few per page!  However, Daywalt nails it.  He is the author of The Day the Crayons Quit, so we know he gets humor!
  • I don’t want to leave out the fabulous illustrations by Olivier Tallec.  A piece of cake and a monkey in serious discussions could go horribly wrong, but Tallec masterfully makes this seem like to most likely of pairs.  We sense their frustration and friendship and I was totally bought into this unlikely duo.

Who this book is for:

Fans of Elephant and Piggie and anything by Jonathan Fenske will rejoice at this new series. Word bubbles and clever humor are a trademark of all these series.

Final thoughts:

Clever early readers seem so simple but are truly not easy to do well.  I love finding gems like these.

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: What Is Inside This Box? A Monkey and Cake Book.   A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.

No Comments

Leave a Comment