How Women Got the Right to Vote

Today I have a book that looks at how women got the right to vote.  This was an eye-opener for me.  I am shocked that I didn’t know the history.  When you read this and realize how long it took and how close we were to failing, you will be amazed.  I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that this portion of women’s history has not been elevated.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or by email so that you don’t miss a single story that reminds kids and adults how hard and long the fight was for women to get the right to vote.  It turns out my grandmother couldn’t vote until after my father was born, which still amazes me.

Title: History Smashers: Women’s Right to Votehow women got the right to vote

Author: Kate Messner

Target: Grades 5 and up

Series: Yes

What this book is about:

This book smashes some of the common historical misconceptions we have about women getting the right to vote.  I mean who here thinks that Susan B Anthony got the law passed?  Shocker, she wasn’t even alive when the 19th Amendment was passed by Congress or when it was ratified by the states.  It took a lot of women, with a lot of tactics to move things forward.  Women were physically assaulted and sent to prison for lawfully protesting for the right to vote (sound familiar).  There were hunger strikes.  There was a focus on laws state by state and a National push with disagreements among the women about the best course of action.  In the end, it came down to one vote, in one state legislature.  I had no idea how close we came to not getting representation.

Why I love this book:

  • I really appreciate that Messner gives us the unvarnished truth, warts and all.  These women fought an uphill battle and it wasn’t always nice.  There was always a tension between Black men and women and the White suffragettes as they all struggled to get their voices heard and obtain the power of the vote.  
  • The layout of the book makes it quite entertaining.  The illustrations by Dylan Meconis are charming and Messner includes plenty of photos of the women.  It is written as if Messner is in a conversation with the reader, sharing interesting stories and anecdotes.
  • I appreciate that the book is all-inclusive.  Messner profiles many women who moved the cause forward and acknowledges the “first” women in government positions that are occurring today regardless of party affiliation.  

Who this book is for:

Great for kids who love history, but frankly even kids who didn’t think they were interested can get caught up in this one.  Fans of Nathan Hale and Action Presidents will love this series.

Final thoughts:

Pick this one up as an adult.  There is great information here and as my mother always said, “If you really want to understand something, read the kid’s book!”

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: History Smashers: Women’s Right to Vote.  A small portion of each purchase will go back to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.