Everyone Is Fighting Battles We May Never See

Today I have a book that reminds us that everyone is fighting battles we may never see.  This southern charmer shares the story of Lyndie, a young girl whose father continues to battle PTSD from his time in Vietnam.  Their family tries to keep his problems behind closed doors, but getting the help they need can make all the difference.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or by email so that you don’t miss a single story that shares how difficult life becomes when we try to pretend everything is alright.

Title: The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkinseveryone is fighting battles we may never see

Author: Gail Shepherd

Target: Grades 4-6

Series: No

What this book is about:

Lyndie is a middle school girl in Tennessee in 1985. She and her parents have just moved in with Lyndie’s grandparents because her father lost his job and her mother has been having headaches.  Lyndie is a southern girl and her grandmother thinks she is full of a little too much independence and sass.  Her grandmother doesn’t want anyone in their small town to know their business, but Lyndie’s dad is suffering the effects of fighting in the war in Vietnam and keeping everything to themselves just seems to be making things worse.  Lyndie navigates friendships, school and family as this secret continues to wear her down.

Why I love this book:

  • I appreciated the look at soldiers who fought in Vietnam.  It is rare that they are covered in stories and their sacrifices always seem a bit lost in our history.  That said, the book is very relatable to any child whose parent has gone through a significant trauma and are having difficulty finding their footing.
  • It was great that Lyndie is surrounded by a supportive family.  While the grandparents, especially grandma, may grate on her nerves as they deal with their own issues, Lyndie is loved and cared for, even when her parents are momentarily absent.
  • Lyndie is a southern charmer.  She is kindhearted, full of sass, stubborn and brave through it all.  Readers will root for her throughout.

Who this book is for:

This book is for kids who like spunky heroines and realistic fiction.  Fans of books such as Vilonia Beebe Takes Charges and Pie will enjoy this one.

Final thoughts:

Although the book is set in the 80’s, it lacked that period feel.  This could be a benefit in that it doesn’t feel dated.  However, I did miss a sense of history and place when the story setting is almost 35 years ago!

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins.  A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.