Tag Archives : Fantasy

Medieval Fantasy Full of Adventure and Humor


Today I have a medieval fantasy full of adventure and humor.  I have been reading a greater than average number of books set in medieval times these days and I am beginning to think it may be the trend of 2018!  Given that these books are high on the action scale you will get no complaints from me. Don’t forget…

Action-Packed Fantasy for Middle Grades


Today I have an action-packed fantasy for middle grades.  Drest is headstrong female lead who will capture the hearts of all readers as she fights to save her family while confronting the truths about how they lived.  Right and wrong are not as easily defined for any of the characters. And kids will get a lesson in feudalism, the role…

What Makes Us Beautiful


Today I have a book that questions what makes us beautiful.  I don’t often read YA, but every once in a while I love a good romp through the young adult world, especially when the story is full of suspense and questioning our belief in the way things are meant to be.  I was totally caught up in the fantasy…

Delicious Fantasy and Adventure Story


Today I have a delicious fantasy and adventure story for kids.  However, this book should come with a warning.  A serious chocolate craving will ensue after reading.  You have been warned. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that you don’t miss a single story where chocolate is a very lucrative and…

A Return to Fantasy in Kid’s Books


Today I have a return to fantasy in kid’s books.  There have been so many stories out this year which are realistic fiction, I was starting to think that publishers had given up on new fantasy offerings.  Well, welcome to Nevermoor, a book that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter with its elements of magic, a contest to weed…

Where Did Santa Claus Come From?


Today I have a book that will finally answer the question “Where did Santa Claus come from?”  No more having to take on evasive maneuvers when your kids corner you with the big Santa Claus question.  Just pull out this book and all will be answered. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so…

Book Where Mystery and Puzzles Abound


Today I have a book where mystery and puzzles abound.  Set in a fictionalized New York City, three kids are trying to solve one of the most complex puzzles and save their home.  Will they be able to triumph where all others have failed? Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that…

Trees Just Might Make Wishes Come True


Today I have a book about an Oak, and darn if trees just might make wishes come true.  When Newbery award winner Katherine Applegate comes out with a new book it is a big deal.  This one is getting quite a bit of buzz and for fans of The One and Only Ivan, I predict there will be no disappointed…

Fantasy and Science Fiction for Kids


This book provides a good dose of fantasy and science fiction for kids.  In a galaxy far far away Lucky is just discovering his powers and the role he will play in saving the universe.  This book is another import from the UK and the story leads us into an intergalactic war with consequences no one could have foreseen.  Lucky…

Silly Book for Kids


Do not get this story unless you want a silly book for kids!  Written by an English author, his books are finally making the trek to the US where they just may usher in an era of excessive frivolity.  Badgers posing as lemurs, a never ending song about jam, and the evil mustache are just the tip of the iceberg…