My Young Adult Obsession

My young adult obsession is something I don’t get the chance to indulge in too often.  I have far too many middle school books to read, and if I am being honest, the angst and romance of YA fare are like cake frosting.  I love to indulge but if I eat too much, I start to feel a little off.  So when I go in for a YA book, I want it to be worth it, and The Cruel Prince was a perfect selection.  The sequel was just released so if your teen decided to jump in, there is plenty for them to sink their teeth into.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Instagram or by email so that you don’t miss a single story that you … or your teen, can sink their teeth into.  Hey, I don’t judge.

Title: The Cruel PrinceMy young adult obsession cruel prince

Author: Holly Black

Target: Grades 7 and up

Series: Yes

What this book is about:

Jude’s parents are murdered when she is a young girl, and she and her sisters are taken away to live in Faerie, the land of the fairies.  Jude desperately wants to belong, but humans are not regarded as fondly.  She lives daily with the mocking of Prince Cardan and his entourage.  However, when she becomes a spy and gets embroiled in the palace intrigue, she finds she has some unique skill sets and that perhaps there is a place for her in Faerie after all.

Why I love this book:

  • This is my favorite type of YA.  Plenty of drama, action, intrigue, romance and a little magic thrown in.  I can’t read these too often, but when I do they are a guilty pleasure I absolutely adore.  This one is well written and will satisfy kids who love series such as The Belles.
  • There is plenty to sink your teeth into in this story.  Jude is a great heroine who readers will sympathize with, but also admire her strength.  The antagonists are complex enough not to be cut out villains but they have plenty of endearing qualities as well.  Jude’s twin sister is a great foil as a woman who also wants to fit in but has taken a very different path.
  • This is absolutely a series, but this book concludes well.  I hate it when the book leaves you hanging too much at the end.  I was very satisfied with the ending while still wanting to know what would happen next.

Who this book is for:

Great for YA readers who like books such as The Belles or The Selection series.

Final thoughts:

A very pleasant way to spend two days.  Just the fantasy escape I needed.

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: The Cruel Prince.  A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.

No Comments

Leave a Comment