Humor and Suspense for Kids

With Halloween looming ahead of us, what better time to give kids some books with a little fright factor!  The book I am profiling today has plenty of humor and suspense for kids so they can get their dose of bone chilling adventure while also howling with laughter.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that you don’t miss a single story where your teacher’s odd behavior really is the result of a strange dog bite, and not just their general demeanor.

Title: The Curse of the Were-Hyenacurse-of-the-were-hyema

Author: Burce Hale

Target: Grades 3-6

Series: This is the first book in a planned series

What this book is about:

Carlos and Benny start to get worried when their fourth grade teacher Mr. Chu, begins behaving strangely. Mr. Chu will laugh uncontrollably, sniff the garbage and try to attack errant farm animals. They believe that a bite from a strange dog has begun to turn Mr. Chu in to a Were-Hyena. However, they find the cure for his malady is anything but simple and involves stealing an amulet and sneaking into a graveyard at night. But the boys want to be heroes, or do they?

Why I love this book:

  • This book is the perfect combination of funny/scary moments. It is absolutely silly at times and kids will be laughing at Carlos and Benny’s antics, but it has a little fear factor to keep things interesting.
  • I really enjoyed the variety of ethnicities in the characters. I like it when a book gives kids a whole slew of characters they can relate to.
  • I love a book with a smattering of illustrations. I always say that we shouldn’t have to give up pictures just because kids get older.

Who this book is for:

Great for fans of Goosebumps, Zombie Chasers or Tales from Lovecraft Middle School. The smaller size of the book and illustrations also make it a good pick for reluctant readers.

Final thoughts:

Love the holographic cover showing Mr. Chu’s transformation!

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: The Curse of the Were-Hyena.  A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.

You might also enjoy:

No Comments

Leave a Comment