Engaging Mystery for Kids

Today I have an engaging mystery for kids.  Mysteries are tough because they have to help lead kids to the who done it, but they can’t be too obvious or it takes all the fun out of the mystery.  Not an easy task.  The book I am profiling has jus the right amount of clues without giving too much away,  so if your child figures it out, they can feel a smug sense of satisfaction.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that you don’t miss a single story where a student is actually trying to find her missing teacher.  Yep, I’m not so sure my kids would look that hard.

Title: The Maypop KidnappingMaypop Kidnapping engaging mystery for kids

Author: C. M. Surrisi

Target: Grades 4-7

Series: No

What this book is about:

Quinnie lives in a small town in Maine where she is the only student in school. When her teacher doesn’t show up for the first day, Quinnie is sure something is wrong. However, the townsfolk have know her teacher for years and suspect that she just got distracted and will be back any day. Quinnie isn’t buying it and so she she begins to investigate and no one in her small town is above suspiscion.

Why I love this book:

  • This was a fun mystery. The solution is not obvious and it will have kids searching for clues throughout the story.
  • Quinnie was a likable and realistic character. She gets into a lot of trouble helping the people she loves, but she is tenacious, smart and just self aware enough to be believable.
  • I like that the mystery has some drama and some scary action, without going overboard on either.

Who this book is for:

Great for kids who liked Three Times Lucky or kids who enjoy The Red Blazer Girls. It is for fans of Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys or any child that likes a good mystery to solve.

Final thoughts:

Enjoyed learning about the coast of Maine which doesn’t sound like a big selling point, but it was quite interesting.

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: The Maypop Kidnapping.  A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.

You might also enjoy:

No Comments

Leave a Comment