Embrace the Awkwardness of Middle School

Today I have a book that will let kids embrace the awkwardness of middle school.  This one really nails it when liking a boy means you stop talking to him and stress over what to text him.  This modern Cyrano de Bergerac will have teens and tweens laughing with a knowing understanding that their lives can get complicated.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that you don’t miss a single story by an author who continues to successfully explore the role of social media on our kids and their relationships.

Title: Well, That Was Awkwardwell that was awkward embrace the awkwardness of middle school

Author: Rachel Vail

Target: Grade 5-8

Series: No

What this book is about:

Gracie is discovering that middle school is tough. When did her friend AJ get to be so good looking? But it turns out AJ has a crush on Gracie’s best friend Sienna and Sienna just gets so nervous texting him. In comes best friend Gracie to save the day and text for Sienna when she just doesn’t know what to say to AJ. But Gracie is always the best side kick so this is no problem for her, or is it?

Why I love this book:

  • This modern day Cyrano de Bergerac tale is funny and right on point. I love that it totally gets middle school. Of course the minute that AJ and Sienna start “dating” they no longer speak to each other, which feels way too accurate.
  • I love Gracie’s voice. She is just the perfect level of sarcastic for me. I will tell you that it took me a couple of chapters to really tune into her, but when I did I fell in love with her character! She is just self deprecating enough and always trying to do the right thing.
  • The romance at the end might just be a little to good to be true, but hey, I’m a romantic and this is story after all.

Who this book is for:

Great for kids who like realistic fiction. Fans of Goodbye Stranger or Rachel Vail’s Unfriended will enjoy this one.

Final thoughts:

So glad I didn’t have to contend with social media when I was in middle school!

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: Well, That Was Awkward.  A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.

You might also enjoy:

No Comments

Leave a Comment