Browsing Category : Chapter Books

Play Like a Girl


The book I have today will encourage kids to play like a girl.  Gabby is a ballplayer and female which doesn’t mean she isn’t a good athlete or that she can’t enjoy a cute dress.  As always we have to open our kids up to the possibility that gender roles don’t define us.  We get to decide what interest us and…

The Truth Can Be Complicated


This book absolutely proves that the truth can be complicated.  Sam is working on his issue of telling white lies and he proves that good kids can stretch things from time to time.  They also have to own up to their mistakes. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that you don’t…

Charming and Memorable Book for Kids


I love it when I find a book like the one I have today, an absolutely charming and memorable book for kids.  I didn’t know anything about the story when I picked this one up and I was blown away.  Aven is this delightful, funny and optimistic young girl, who also doesn’t happen to have any arms.  Of course the…

Book Where Mystery and Puzzles Abound


Today I have a book where mystery and puzzles abound.  Set in a fictionalized New York City, three kids are trying to solve one of the most complex puzzles and save their home.  Will they be able to triumph where all others have failed? Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that…

Modern Retelling of Little Women


Today I have a modern retelling of Little Women.  I am afraid that the faithfuls may be up in arms over this, but I have to tell you that it works.  It is often difficult to get kids to see the magic in the books we loved as kids, but with the contemporary setting and current updates kids will be…

Challenges of Friendship


The book I have today looks at the challenges of friendship.  What do you do when your friend from the neighborhood isn’t really cool enough to be your friend at school?  Mattie wrestles with this problem along with all the other issues around growing up. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so…

Perfect for Fans of Masterchef Jr


Today I have a series that is perfect for fans of Masterchef Jr.  Go behind the scenes of a reality series for kids where the contestants have to prove their culinary expertise.  Now if only I could cook half as well as these kids! Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that…

Inspiring Girls to Code


Inspiring girls to code is a great thing.  They are underrepresented in the industry and even here where I live in Silicon Valley, we struggle to get girls in large numbers to pick up and get excited about coding classes.  What I really enjoyed about this book is that the app that was developed is relevant and interesting to girls…