Author Archives : Freya Hooper

Modern Retelling of Little Women


Today I have a modern retelling of Little Women.  I am afraid that the faithfuls may be up in arms over this, but I have to tell you that it works.  It is often difficult to get kids to see the magic in the books we loved as kids, but with the contemporary setting and current updates kids will be…

Challenges of Friendship


The book I have today looks at the challenges of friendship.  What do you do when your friend from the neighborhood isn’t really cool enough to be your friend at school?  Mattie wrestles with this problem along with all the other issues around growing up. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so…

Science Behind Outlandish Ways to Die


Today I have a book that looks at the science behind outlandish ways to die.  I mean haven’t you always wanted to know how bad it really is to slip on a banana peel and could it be the trigger for your demise?  Well wonder no longer as this book can actually answer that question. Don’t forget to follow One…

Picture Book with a Comic Twist


I love a picture book with a comic twist.  Fenske first popped up on my radar when I was a Cybils judge and was reviewing Love Is in the Air.  However, it was A Pig, a Fox and a Box that sold me on his talent.  From there he just kept getting better.  He is a wonderful author for the…

Entertaining Early Chapter Book


Today I have an entertaining early chapter book.  I have enjoyed this series for the last few years and was excited to see there was a book that focused on soccer.  This sport has become so popular that most kids will experience life on a soccer team at some point, and most of them will deal with the same frustrations…

Bittersweet Life in Middle School


Today I have a book that will ring true to kids who have a bittersweet life in middle school.  Victoria Jamieson is the author of the Newbery Honor book Roller Girl and her latest  adventure is also exploring growing up through the eyes of a tween girl.  But this time she shakes things up a bit by writing about a…

Spunky Japanese-American Heroine


Today I have an early chapter book with a spunky Japanese-American heroine.  She will absolutely appeal to kids who have a sense of adventure or who don’t want to be held back from doing the fun stuff.  I mean age is really just a number after all. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by…

Perfect for Fans of Masterchef Jr


Today I have a series that is perfect for fans of Masterchef Jr.  Go behind the scenes of a reality series for kids where the contestants have to prove their culinary expertise.  Now if only I could cook half as well as these kids! Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that…