Author Archives : Freya Hooper

Science Behind Outlandish Ways to Die


Today I have a book that looks at the science behind outlandish ways to die.  I mean haven’t you always wanted to know how bad it really is to slip on a banana peel and could it be the trigger for your demise?  Well wonder no longer as this book can actually answer that question. Don’t forget to follow One…

Picture Book with a Comic Twist


I love a picture book with a comic twist.  Fenske first popped up on my radar when I was a Cybils judge and was reviewing Love Is in the Air.  However, it was A Pig, a Fox and a Box that sold me on his talent.  From there he just kept getting better.  He is a wonderful author for the…

Entertaining Early Chapter Book


Today I have an entertaining early chapter book.  I have enjoyed this series for the last few years and was excited to see there was a book that focused on soccer.  This sport has become so popular that most kids will experience life on a soccer team at some point, and most of them will deal with the same frustrations…

Bittersweet Life in Middle School


Today I have a book that will ring true to kids who have a bittersweet life in middle school.  Victoria Jamieson is the author of the Newbery Honor book Roller Girl and her latest  adventure is also exploring growing up through the eyes of a tween girl.  But this time she shakes things up a bit by writing about a…

Spunky Japanese-American Heroine


Today I have an early chapter book with a spunky Japanese-American heroine.  She will absolutely appeal to kids who have a sense of adventure or who don’t want to be held back from doing the fun stuff.  I mean age is really just a number after all. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by…

Perfect for Fans of Masterchef Jr


Today I have a series that is perfect for fans of Masterchef Jr.  Go behind the scenes of a reality series for kids where the contestants have to prove their culinary expertise.  Now if only I could cook half as well as these kids! Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that…

Daily Life Around the World


Today I have a picture book that shares daily life around the world.  Seven children from countries such as Uganda, Iran and Peru are profiled in their everyday activities.  Readers will get to see how their lives differ and resemble families from other cultures.  Given the problems in the world today, it is a wonderful way to open the door…

Calling All Class Moms


Calling all class moms to a book that will make you feel understood in the best possible way.  While this is usually a place for kid books, I couldn’t let this one go by without making sure it was on your radar.  Laurie Gelman nails all the classroom parent politics with absolute humor and a mastery of the nuances.  I…