A Chapter Book About Time Travel

I usually have trouble with time travel books because to be frank, I get totally confused with the whole concept of the single mutable time stream theory.  Yep, even typing it confuses me.  But I charge in to these books none the less because a chapter book about time travel is so cool.

The book I am profiling today about time travel actually made sense (sort of) which is a big win for me.  It is also funny, sad in places, and full of adventure and mischief.

Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and by email so that you don’t miss a single post where a small rodent, namely a hamster, gets the experience of a lifetime.

Title: Time Traveling with a Hamstertime-traveling-with-a-hamster a chapter book about time travel

Author: Ross Welford

Target: Grades 4-6

Series: No

What this book is about:

On Al’s twelfth birthday, he gets a hamster and a letter from his dad telling him about a time machine. You see, Al’s dad died suddenly from a piece of metal that had been lodged in his head for years after a go kart accident when he was a kid. Al’s father wants Al to go back in time and stop him from riding the go kart on the fateful day. This adventure will involve breaking and entering, stealing and a whole lot of courage and faith. Al learns that changing the past can have some unintended consequences in the future.

Why I love this book:

  • I often find time travel books really confusing, but this one was surprisingly well done and I understood most of it, which means your kids will too.
  • I couldn’t resist this story the moment I read the first two sentences. “My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty-nine, and again four years later when he was twelve.” Now how is that for pulling you into a story!
  • Loved that the characters were of Indian heritage. Grandpa Byron was especially well done as the clever family member that knows quite a bit more than he lets on.

Who this book is for:

Great for kids who like stories with time travel or science fiction. Fans of When You Reach Me or A Wrinkle in Time will enjoy this one.

Final thoughts:

This book was originally published in the UK. The British references may throw kids off a bit but it is only a small distraction in enjoying the story.

To purchase this book:

Click on the following link to connect to Amazon: Time Traveling with a Hamster.  A portion of each purchase will go to support this blog at no cost to you.  Thank you for your support.

You might also enjoy:

No Comments

Leave a Comment