Entertaining Early Chapter Book


Today I have an entertaining early chapter book.  I have enjoyed this series for the last few years and was excited to see there was a book that focused on soccer.  This sport has become so popular that most kids will experience life on a soccer team at some point, and most of them will deal with the same frustrations…

Read More »

Bittersweet Life in Middle School


Today I have a book that will ring true to kids who have a bittersweet life in middle school.  Victoria Jamieson is the author of the Newbery Honor book Roller Girl and her latest  adventure is also exploring growing up through the eyes of a tween girl.  But this time she shakes things up a bit by writing about a…

Read More »

Spunky Japanese-American Heroine


Today I have an early chapter book with a spunky Japanese-American heroine.  She will absolutely appeal to kids who have a sense of adventure or who don’t want to be held back from doing the fun stuff.  I mean age is really just a number after all. Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by…

Read More »

Perfect for Fans of Masterchef Jr


Today I have a series that is perfect for fans of Masterchef Jr.  Go behind the scenes of a reality series for kids where the contestants have to prove their culinary expertise.  Now if only I could cook half as well as these kids! Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email so that…

Read More »

Daily Life Around the World


Today I have a picture book that shares daily life around the world.  Seven children from countries such as Uganda, Iran and Peru are profiled in their everyday activities.  Readers will get to see how their lives differ and resemble families from other cultures.  Given the problems in the world today, it is a wonderful way to open the door…

Read More »

Calling All Class Moms


Calling all class moms to a book that will make you feel understood in the best possible way.  While this is usually a place for kid books, I couldn’t let this one go by without making sure it was on your radar.  Laurie Gelman nails all the classroom parent politics with absolute humor and a mastery of the nuances.  I…

Read More »

Let the Con Games Begin


Let the con games begin in this delicious new novel from e. lockhart.  If your kids read We Were Liars this summer liked I recommended, they will be pumped and primed for the newest offering from this talented author.  Things are never quite as they seem, and that’s the best part! Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook,…

Read More »

Inspiring Girls to Code


Inspiring girls to code is a great thing.  They are underrepresented in the industry and even here where I live in Silicon Valley, we struggle to get girls in large numbers to pick up and get excited about coding classes.  What I really enjoyed about this book is that the app that was developed is relevant and interesting to girls…

Read More »

Managing Through the Tough Stuff


The book I am profiling today looks at managing through the tough stuff, and Maverick has a lot of tough stuff in his life.  But ultimately he is willing to try to help others, and that is the best thing we can ask of our kids! Don’t forget to follow One Great Book on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or by email…

Read More »